Keep Your Contacts From Discovering Your Twitter Account

by -
Photo: Koshiro K (Shutterstock)

techno.rentetan.com – People who already know you don’t need to see your Tweets. We all have different degrees of comfort when it comes to social media, and Twitter is no exception. While some of us use Twitter as a platform to reach a wider audience, others use it as a way to keep in touch with a select group of individuals. There are some individuals out there who have a hard time dealing with casual strangers finding out about their social media accounts. If the phrase “Aunt Judy is now following you” fills you with dread, you have options.

You would think Twitter wants to make it easier for your friends and family to locate you on the network, but in reality, the corporation merely wants to increase interaction in whatever way they can. As for you, you probably want more control over who sees what you post on Facebook. You don’t have to make your Twitter account private if you don’t want it to be seen by individuals who know your email or phone number.

What is the best way to stop Twitter from distributing your personal information to your contacts?

It’s possible to deactivate the option, despite the fact that it’s buried. Open Twitter as a starting point, of course. In either case, touch your profile image to open the “More” menu; if you’re using an iOS or Android device, tap your profile photo.

As a next step, you’ll want to check out the privacy settings in the settings section of the app. People who know your email address can’t locate your Twitter account if you uncheck the box next to that option in this section of your Twitter profile. Uncheck the box next to that option if you don’t want individuals who know your phone number to be able to discover your Twitter account.

Screenshot: Jake Peterson

If you’d want to delete all of your Twitter contacts, you may choose “Manage contacts” from the menu. Twitter will no longer propose that you follow certain accounts, but it will no longer be able to share your account with your contacts (which is still regulated by the settings you selected above). Disconnecting personal data from large social media corporations is also a good idea whenever feasible.