Frequently deleting your YouTube history can help you stay organized (and How to Do It)

by -
Photo: NiP STUDIO (Shutterstock)

techno.rentetan.com – It’s time to get rid of useless content from your YouTube recommendations. Google utilizes your YouTube viewing history, among other things, to present you a never-ending stream of stuff it believes you’ll be interested in, similar to many other social networking applications. If you’ve got a few hours to kill, you may be able to enjoy a few hours of humor or adorable animals.

The algorithm may have served up a large amount of information on a subject you’d want to keep secret, but suppose you looked for it nonetheless. The videos you’re interested in may be drowned out by something that’s too dull to view for school or work.

Fortunately, you have the option of deleting part or all of your YouTube viewing history. If you haven’t already, here’s why you should do it frequently—and how to do it quickly.

The benefits of erasing your YouTube history

As previously mentioned, YouTube will tailor your suggestions based on what you’ve seen in the past. Of course, there’s more to this than just curating your feed at stake. It’s important to keep in mind that Google has access to your YouTube past, and clearing it out reduces the amount of data they can collect about you. Depending on your settings, YouTube will automatically remove any information older than three months, 18 months, or 36 months.

Your watch history can be deleted if you want to conceal anything from someone who can access your Google account, but a better option would be password-protecting everything.

Finally, the algorithm’s recommendations may have little impact on your YouTube experience if you mainly utilize the search function to look for certain subjects or videos. You can safeguard some of your privacy and avoid humiliation by eliminating unnecessary themes, but it’s a trade-off.

How to remove all of your YouTube history

You can keep track of the videos you’ve seen on YouTube in a few different ways. Go to YouTube.com and click History in the left-hand sidebar to see all of your videos. In the right sidebar, under History type, make sure the Watch history radio button is chosen.

The most recent items in your watch history are shown in the center of the screen. To delete a video from your history, all you have to do is touch the X when it appears above the video.

Screenshot: Emily Long

In the right-hand sidebar, you may search for videos you wish to remove. Also, if you don’t want to see anything you’ve seen in your past when you switch it back on, it’s possible to wipe your whole watch history or put it on hold.

At myactivity.google.com, you can also choose what information about your Google search history and geographic location is preserved along with your YouTube history preferences. To see and make changes to your video history, go to YouTube History > Manage History.

Finally, via the YouTube mobile app, you may modify your viewing history. Individual videos may be deleted by swiping down on a video’s thumbnail and tapping the Library button at the bottom, followed by the History icon. Select Remove from watch history by tapping the three vertical dots next to the title. Go to Settings > History and privacy > Manage all activities by tapping your profile symbol in the top right corner. Changes you make on one device will be reflected on other connected devices using the same Google account.