It’s possible to encrypt your Google Photos photos and videos

by -
Photo: sdx15 (Shutterstock)

techno.rentetan.com – Protect your private photographs and videos by hiding them on your phone and preventing them from being uploaded to the internet. There are images and videos we don’t want anybody to see, and we’ve all felt that brief zap of terror when we reveal a picture to a friend or family member and they start scrolling to their heart’s delight. As long as you use Google Photographs, you don’t have to worry about your private photos and videos being accessed by anybody.

It is now possible to use the Google Photos Locked Folder on Android devices

As a Pixel-exclusive feature for Google Photographs, the ability to password-protect your photos and videos was removed. By the end of 2014, Google said it will be available on additional Android devices and iOS. Some Androids other than the Pixel smartphones can utilize the function, according to Android Police, despite the fact that iPhones do not seem to have it.

It’s important to understand how it works first. Your Google Photographs Locked Folder performs a few things when you transfer photos and movies there. In the first place, it prevents certain photographs from appearing in your general photo library. In addition, it prevents those images from being backed up to the cloud, further enhancing their anonymity. In the event that you remove the Google Photos app or otherwise wipe your phone, everything in Locked Photo is likewise erased.

Locking photographs and videos in Google Photos is simple enough

To utilize the functionality, just open a photo or video in your Google Photos app and choose “Lock”. To move a picture to a locked folder, just swipe up on the image or hit the three dots in the upper right corner of the screen.

First-time users of Google Photos will be presented with a splash screen informing them of the feature’s purpose. As long as you’re satisfied with all of the characteristics listed above, you can simply hit “Set up.” Go back to the lock screen and use the same authentication method you used to log in. As an example, if you’re using face unlock, you’ll have to scan your face to proceed. Tap “Use PIN” if you want to input your password. When asked, press the “Confirm” button.

In order to remove the picture from your collection, all that is required is a simple press of “Move.”

How to open a password-protected folder to see your files

The locked folder is tucked away in a corner of the screen. Tap “Library” and then “Utilities” to locate it. Click on “Locked Folder” at the bottom of the list. Tap “Confirm” to authenticate yourself. Here, you may access all of your images and movies in the same way that you would in any other folder—and you can even transfer an item out of the restricted one.