Backing up and wiping your iPhone before selling it has never been easier than it is with iOS 15

by -
Photo: ms_pics_and_more (Shutterstock)

techno.rentetan.com – Because it’s now so simple to save your data and do a factory reset on an iPhone or iPad, we’re grateful. Is it time for you to give up your iPhone or iPad? It depends on whether you’re upgrading to a newer and better model, or passing it on to someone else. Maybe it needs to be repaired. In order to delete your personal data, Apple ID, and Activation Lock credentials, you’ll need to wipe your iPhone or iPad completely.

Now, Apple has made the procedure easier, starting with iOS 15 and iPad OS 15. You no longer have to perform three separate tasks; instead, you simply need to perform one (and honestly, this feature was long overdue).

How to restore your iPhone or iPad to a factory state after a data backup and factory reset

Take a look at “General” in the “Settings” app on your iPhone. The “Transfer or Reset iPhone” option may be found at the bottom of the page.

Buying a new iPhone? Apple will back up all of your iPhone data to iCloud even if you don’t have an iCloud Storage subscription. Only one week’s worth of this data will be made available to you before it is permanently deleted. To begin, select “Get Started” from the Prepare for new iPhone section’s drop-down menu.

Make use of the “Erase All Content and Settings” option if you want to remove all of your iPhone’s data altogether.

All of the stuff that Apple will delete off the smartphone will now appear on a new page. Things like your Apple ID, Find My, and Apple Wallet will appear for the first time on this list. Take a step further by pressing the “Next” button.

Screenshot: Khamosh Pathak

To confirm, type in your iPhone’s passcode. iCloud will prompt you to resume the backup procedure if it hasn’t finished yet. Finish this backup, then take a local backup on your iPhone or iPad. If you don’t want to do a backup, select the “Skip Backup” option.

To log out of your smartphone and turn off Find My iPhone and Activation Lock, enter your Apple ID password. After entering your password, touch the “Turn Off” button and then the “Erase iPhone” button.

Screenshot: Khamosh Pathak

The factory reset procedure for your iPhone or iPad has now begun. Your phone will return to the “Hello” screen in a few of minutes. You no longer have to be concerned about disclosing your personal information when you sell or trade your iPhone or iPad.