How to Wipe Your Mac Without Having to Reinstall the Operating System

by -
Photo: Farknot Architect (Shutterstock)

techno.rentetan.com – Like your iPhone, macOS Monterey allows you to clean install your Mac without reinstalling the operating system. Resetting a Mac has always been a pain: the only secure method to do so was to format the entire machine and reinstall the operating system. You had to do that every time you sold your Mac or if you had a serious software problem.

This friction was enough for some to put off the procedure forever, but with the macOS Monterey update, the latest Macs with Apple’s authentication chips now have a new clean install tool, similar to the iPhone and iPad. You may reset your complete Mac without altering the operating system, deleting all data and settings.

First, see if your Mac is compatible

This function is only accessible on a limited number of Macs. Apple Silicon (M1, M1 Pro, and M1 Max) processors are supported on all Macs. For Intel Macs, all models (2017 to 2019) that include Apple’s T2 security chip are supported. That’s the hardware; to upgrade the software, you’ll need to first upgrade to macOS Monterey. If you haven’t already, go to “System Preferences” by clicking the Apple symbol in the Menu bar. Choose “Software Update” to update to the most recent version of macOS Monterey.

Apple will log you out of your Apple ID and delete all data, including your Touch ID fingerprint, if you use the clean install feature. You won’t have to worry about Find My or Activation Lock because it will be disabled for you.

In macOS Monterey, how to clean install Mac without reinstalling the OS

Now that you’ve upgraded to macOS Monterey, you’ll need to locate the clean install option, which is hidden within the System Preferences menu. Click the Apple symbol in the menu bar and select “System Preferences” on your Mac.

Screenshot: Khamosh Pathak

Select “Erase All Contents and Settings” from the menu bar after clicking “System Preferences” from the menu bar.

Screenshot: Khamosh Pathak

A new Erase Assistant app will launch once you enter your account password. Select the account you wish to delete. To learn more about the cleaning procedure, use the drop-down menu. Select “Continue” from the drop-down menu. Then, to sign out of your account, enter your Apple ID password.

Screenshot: Khamosh Pathak

To confirm, select “Erase All Content & Settings” from the window. The action deletion process will begin, and your computer may restart several times during this period. Your Mac will now search for the associated keyboard and mouse. You don’t have to worry about it if you’re using a MacBook. Following that, your Mac will prompt you to select a language.

Activation is the final and most important step. Simply connect to wifi throughout the setup procedure to accomplish this. The “Your Mac is Activated” prompt will appear in a few seconds. To complete the procedure, click “Restart.”

After that, you’ll see the classic “Hello” screen, which will allow you to set up your Mac as if it were brand new. That’s all there is to it. You may either set up your Mac as new or restore a backup from Time Machine from here. You don’t need to do anything else if you’re selling your Mac.