How can I stop your Android and your location apps

by -
Photo: TY Lim (Shutterstock)

techno.rentetan.com – You may have to track location for some applications, but not all programs constantly.

Nobody wants their devices to spy on them to the delight of the large tech giants. Our mobile gadgets, however, track each motion by default – and share that data with other applications and services. Fortunately you don’t have to live with the default setup offered to you just like with most everything on Android. Instead your location services can be managed to meet your privacy values.

How to completely disable Android location

You can deactivate Location on Android so that no location information is shared with Google or other apps. To accomplish it, slide down the top of the screen and then press the position (“location arrow” is the icon). Tap Edit or Settings if you do not see Location here, then pull Location into Your Quick Settings.

While this could be the greatest way to ensure privacy on Android, it is not very easy. Any applications requiring location data, such Google Maps, are simply not going to work with this configuration. If you can live with it, you can have an Android experience free of locations. But for most of us, we better tinker with other settings.

How to deactivate application location allowances

You will likely find it more helpful to adjust permissions for individual app instead of switching off the entire location on Android. Of course, not all apps are same, so some apps may be more accessible to the location and will be resistant for others.

Navigate to Settings > Location and then to App Permissions. There are three categories to choose from: Allowable at all times, which includes apps that can access your location whenever they want; Allow just when in use, which includes apps that can only use your location when they are active; and Ask every time, which includes apps that must request permission to use your location every time. Select one of these categories to see the apps that have those permissions. To alter the permissions for a specific app, tap it and select a new option.

Alternatively, you can modify location permissions for individual apps. Long-press the app in question on the home screen of your phone, then hit the (i). Choose Permissions > Location, then select one of the three above categories, or Deny, which will prevent that app from accessing your location data.

How to Turn Off Android’s Location Accuracy

Android employs Location Accuracy in order to detect your actual location; your location-based suggestion is based on your GPS, wifi, mobile network and telephone sensing information and your exact location on the display. This may be useful for some applications, but you might be unhappy with the access to these data by both Google and its related applications and services.

To disable Accuracy of Location, head into Settings > Location > Advanced > Accuracy of Google Location and turn off Improved Accuracy of Location. Google can only use GPS to detect your location if you disable this function. Not completely private, but significantly less precise than the default.

How to remove and disable Android location history

Location history is what it sounds like; Google stores places where you are using your smartphone, to assist you find a telephone and traffic updates in real time. But it’s a bit timid for many of us.

Check the Google Account Activity Controls to disable the location history. Sign in if you’re not. View History of location and pick “Replace.” Choose “Pause” on the pop-up, which will show a new pop-up. Google will load a Location Story Map, and you can view pinpoints of all the sites where you were with Google, by selecting “Delete Old Activity.” To delete this information, just right click on the trash and on the pop-up checkbox and click on ‘DELETE LOCATION HISTORY.’ The following is the following information.

You can also select to remove your location history automatically by Google after a certain length of time. Select Auto-delete, auto-delete, auto-delete activity, then select one of the options older than 3, 18, or 36 months from your activity control site. To save your option choose Next.

How to disable sharing location

You may quickly switch off this function if you have Location Sharing enabled but regret sharing your location with your contact list. Tap the profile symbol and select the locations for sharing. Open Google Maps. Hit the contact profile that will no longer be used for your location and tap Stop to confirm. Tap Stop.

How to deactivate Web browsing location permissions

Google lets you check which sites have information about your location. Go to this URL on your browser to deactivate location allowance of a website. Tap the Lock at the left of the address bar, tap Permissions, and then switch off the Site.

Of course, for your entire browser you can unable location rights; just follow the above procedures to deactivate specific applications location access (in this case, a browser like Chrome or Firefox).