How to hide your ex nodes, personal data and photos on iPhones or iPads

by -
Photo: Kicking Studio (Shutterstock)

techno.rentetan.com – You can lock sensitive photos securely to avoid falling into them—or someone else.

You may have some photos on your iPhone or iPad you prefer not to stumble upon—or you may have somebody else stumbling upon, such as an image of your ex, troubled memory or something else, uh, unnoticed. You can hide them when you aren’t ready to delete or discharge them, but don’t want them to be seen from wrong eyes—by using the integrated, hidden pictures, creating a password-restricted note, or using a dedicated photo locker app.

Hide photos with the app Photos

The “Hide” feature in the Photosapp is the easiest way to hide sensitive photographs and videos on your iPhone or iPad. The only problem is that if someone has access to their iPhone or iPad, they may still be able to discover these photos in the Hidden Photos Album. But if you use iOS 14 or higher, you may change a configuration that also hides the album in the Photos app, and just hopefully whoever does have your phone won’t know the configuration.

(Apple should add the Face ID authentication authentication for the hidden album photos, but we’ll cover more authentication options below.)

Select the photos you want to hide, click the Share button, and select Hide. To hide them here, open the Photos app. To confirm, tap Hide Photos.

Screenshot: Khamosh Pathak

The photographs are taken off the scroll of the camera. In order to find these photos, go to the Albums tab and select the Hidden album and scroll down to the ‘Utilities’ section. If you would like to disguise your photos, please click Share, select Unhide.

Now is the time to hide your own hidden album. Go to Photos and disable the Hidden Album feature, open your iPhone or iPad Settings application. Now you’re safely hiding all your photos from the app photos.

Screenshot: Khamosh Pathak

Hide photos using notes protected by passwords

If a couple of pictures (perhaps pictures of documents that contain sensitive information or a risky selfie or two) you want to protect are available, the Notes app can be used. Open the Notes app on your iPhone or iPad to hide them, create a new notice and name it not (perhaps not a great idea to call it “My Nudes”). In this way.

Tap the Camera icon here and select the Photo or Video selection option. To add photos to the note, select the photos to be hidden and tap Add. Now is the time for the note to be locked. Tap the top right-hand three-dotted menu button and select the Lock feature.

You will be prompted to set your password when you first lock the note in the Notes app. You can select a unique password. This password applies to all locked notes on all Apple devices (if you have iCloud sync). If the password is set, the Face ID or Touch ID functionality can also be activated to unlock the note quickly without ever entered the password. Tap the lock button in the toolbar above to unlock the notes or unlock them when set up.

Note that locked notes in the Notes app have been encrypted and there is no way to restore them when you lose your password.. You can reset the password by the note app, but old notes are gone.

Lock photos with a password manager

If you have already been (and should be) using a password manager, check whether it offers a secure note. Many popular password managers such as 1Password, LastPass and Bitwarden have a safe media storage cupboard.

Your media is encrypted and secured, but two caveats exist. The first concerns the space for storage: Only about 1 GB of space is given to you by password managers. This could be sufficient for pictures but not for videos. Secondly, the data will be stored and made available via the web on the password manager servers. The data is encrypted, of course, but something needs to be taken into account.

Use third party photo locker apps to hide photos

Test a dedicated file locker app if you want to cover up your photos without cloud use on your device. We talked about Orga before, an application that lets you find and hide sensitive photos. These photos may then be added to a locked vault and removed from your photo library with the app.

Many file locker applications can be found within the App Store. Apps like Private Photo Vault, KeepSafe and folder lock can be tried. All are highly rated and safe applications.

Do not forget to delete the photos permanently

The latter step is to delete the photos in the Photos app itself after adding the photos to the locked app—and this is how you must be careful. The photo or video is not deleted immediately if you remove it from the Photos app. The “Recently Deleted” album is still available in the Photos App.

Open the Photos app to completely remove photographs and select the photographs to which you have exported. Then tap the Delete button in the toolbar below and choose to confirm delete photos option.

Then go to the Albums tab to select the album that was recently deleted. Tap the top Select button, select the Delete Everything option and confirm with the Delete Photos option.

Now the photos can be removed from your iPhone or iPad permanently.